Joy ( Atlanta)

Rated 5 out of 5
November 2021

This was such a great experience. Being able to learn about the African history of Portugal with Naky was undeniably touching. Naky is very knowledgeable about history and has a true passion for spreading the truth. He is also very welcoming and encourages connecting with new people. To top it all off, he supports the local Black owned businesses in the area and has a wonderful rapport with them all. I highly recommend this tour for anyone interested in Black people. Also, don’t be intimidated by the 4 hours of walking. It’s an easy pace and plenty of stops.

Joy

Naky was a font of knowledge, wry humor, and keen insights.

Rated 5 out of 5
November 2022

I’m a professor of 40+ years; traveled, written and researched extensively in studying the comparative histories of European colonial empires from a CRT perspective. Naky’s tour was one of the most informative, eye-opening and searingly engaging experiences I’ve ever had in all that time researching the topic around the European colonized world. Naky’s Lisbon tour truly is a walk into the dark-side of Portugal’s history as vanguard champion of the African slave trade at the height of its empire and papally granted monopoly. It’s a history, as Naky insightfully explains at various stops along the tour, that is little acknowledged or even talked about by most Portuguese today. But Naky keeps the commentary and the tour moving briskly, offering a wry or ironic comment at the perfect time as the weight of the history and stories he relates so compellingly can sometimes be difficult to hear. The African Restaurant meal at the end of the tour is a well-earned reward. The dozen member tour group we’d been conversing with and re-acting and sharing our stories with in response to what Naky had shown and told us that morning all felt like we had made good friends, if only for that day, having shared an experience I’m sure we will all remember for a very long time.

Rob Williams

An Intentional, Timely, Authentic and Unapologetic African Lisbon Experience

Rated 5 out of 5
November 2022

The African Lisbon Tour is more than a tour. It is an experience with knowledge, truth, history, and culture of the Portuguese and Africans that everyone should be aware of. The origin of the diaspora and transatlantic slave trade led by the Portuguese is critically essential for society to grasp and understand the plight of Africans and the global impact. The subsequent acts to follow built the nations to culminate in the society we have today (the good, the bad, and the ugly). This is a great opportunity for all to reflect on the truth and all that has transpired to move things forward.

The tour/experience group was stellar, from the conversations, interactions, and breaking bread together. Intentional, Timely, Authentic, and Unapologetic to the truth. Loved it!

Trottin' Rod (Globetrotter Culture - A Borderless Life)

Anetia ( Glenn Heights - Texas)

Rated 5 out of 5
November 2022

The tour was exceptional for me because I learned a lot about the African history in Lisbon.The host Naky ( who was awesome) gave honest opinions about his knowledge of Lisbon history, and the four hour walk seemed like one. He encouraged everyone to ask questions and give honest feedback. At the end of the tour we ate at an African restaurant, and it was a great experience talking to fellow guests of the tour because they all felt genuine. The entire day was a heart warming experience because everyone was so nice.

If you can definitely go on this tour. I highly recommend it, and you will not be disappointed.

Anetia

Sekai (Glasgow)

Rated 5 out of 5
November 2022

One of the best experiences I’ve had in years. It was a very important tour. History is always difficult when it’s being told with truth and Naky tells the history of this city and this country so beautifully. The tour is also an incredible opportunity to make friends with other like-minded folks and we had a pretty amazing group with us. It was a great day in Lisbon and I’m eternally grateful.

Sekai

Great Tour!!

Rated 5 out of 5
November 2022

I loved this tour…. Naky’s knowledge of the African history in Lisbon is insurmountable and left me wanting to know more. The tour ended with a scrumptious meal at a Cape Verdean restaurant. If you are planning a trip to Lisbon, make Naky’s tour a priority…. you will not be disappointed!

Jewell

What an amazing human!!!

Rated 5 out of 5
October 2022

Where do I begin. I reached out to him on IG to ask when his next tour was. He gave me all the details and I showed up with no hesitation. I had already heard so many amazing things about Naky, and let’s just say he lives up to the hype!! This was the best and I mean the best tour that I have ever been on in my life!! He is very compassionate and knowledgeable about African History in Lisbon.

He gets those on the tour interacting and involved, which makes it even the better. The four hours literally flew by. After the tour we ate at an African Restaurant called Mambo, and yes the food was absolutely amazing for $12!! Take his tour!!

Lawanda S

Leslie ( Germany)

Rated 5 out of 5
October 2022

Die Tour war besser als gedacht! Es hat sehr viel Spaß gemacht und wir haben unglaublich viel gesehen, erfahren und gelacht. 100% empfehlenswert. Am Ende haben wir gemeinsam ein afrikanisches Restaurant besucht (sehr lecker!) und anschließend Drinks in einer Bar getrunken. Es war eine einmalige Erfahrung, Thank you Naky 🙏

Leslie

Latasha Sept 2022

Rated 5 out of 5
October 2022

Naky’s tour was great, very interesting and informative. Lots of walking, but definitely with it to see the city and learn the history and stories they don’t mention on other tours. It was a great introduction to Lisbon and Naky made us all feel like good friends. If you’re going to be in Lisbon, you should definitely go on this tour. Thanks again, Naky!

Anonymous

Sandra ( Florida)

Rated 5 out of 5
August 2022

This experience exceeded my expectations! As a black woman, I wanted to learn more about the untold history of slavery in Portugal and the implications of it in modern Day society.

Naky is extremely knowledgeable and the tour in itself was more of a discussion as opposed to a lecture. We ate at a Cape Verdean restaurant afterwards, and it was delicious!!

Truly connected with Naky as well as the rest of the group. Made friends along the way. Highly highly recommend this experience!

Sandra

Leave a Review

Login

This is a trial version of LatePoint Appointment Booking plugin, activate by entering the license key here

Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in

Address

184 Mayfield St. Hopewell
Junction, NY 12533

Phone

Email